Former App State Athlete Shares Career Advice

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Drew Stewart ’13, is a former football player and Appalachian State alum.

Check out this guest blog post from former App State football player, Drew Stewart!  Thanks for sharing with us, Drew!

My experience at Appalachian State was a very good one.  I enjoyed being a part of a great university that provided me with the tools to be successful in the classroom and in the real world.  I graduated in 2013 with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, focusing on management and entrepreneurship.  I played for the football team during my time at Appalachian and stayed connected to campus through opportunities in the athletic department.

Following graduation, I took my first job at Arkansas State University and served as the Special Teams Quality Control Coach in their football program. After spending a little over a year in Jonesboro, Arkansas, I moved back to North Carolina to pursue a career in real estate.  I am currently the Senior Project Advisor for Providence Management in Gastonia, North Carolina.

The job search proved to be tough.  It took lots of e-mails and resume critiques to get my name in the hands of individuals in the college football profession.  I realized the power of networking. For my experience, the job search was heavily influenced by “who I knew” in addition to “what I knew” as a result of my college career at Appalachian.

The experiences in the Walker College of Business and on the football field prepared me for my current job.  While playing college football I learned valuable life lessons, discipline and responsibility.  I strongly believe that the relationships you make through your college career and through networking with professionals in the business of your interest will help you find success.

My advice to job-seeking students in any profession is to build relationships, ask questions and, most importantly, work harder than others seeking the job.  It is all about people and work ethic. If it was not for college football and the experiences I was provided at Appalachian, I would not be the person or professional I am today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

