Outdoor Jobs Fair Leads to Incredible Summer Experiences

CampLurecrest
Camp Lurecrest

Today’s guest blogger is Junior Recreation Management student, Weston Lawrence!  Weston attended the Outdoor Jobs Fair last year and was able to line up this amazing summer job at Camp Lurecrest.  Camp Lurecrest will be attending this year’s Outdoor Jobs Fair along with 60+ other camps, resorts, and parks on Wednesday, February 18th.  Be sure to stop by Grandfather Mountain Ballroom from 10am-2pm to line up your own summer internship, part-time job, or even full-time job!  See you there!

Can you tell us about your experience?

I had the distinct privilege of being a camp counselor at Camp Lurecrest in Lake Lure, NC. If you’ve never heard of this place, you aren’t alone; the Outdoor Jobs Fair was my first time coming in contact with this quaint town in the Appalachian Mountains. As a camp counselor, my duties were exactly what you would expect from a position with this title, but my experience was anything but. Each and every day was different, some good, some not so good, and all significant. I arrived at Camp Lurecrest on June 1, 2014 completely terrified of the fact that I knew about four staff members out of the 50+ that worked there. Fortunately, the first two weeks of camp are staff orientation for oblivious counselors like me to get acclimated to the beautiful chaos I’ve just made myself a part of. Every day of the summer is its own battle; a battle against the heat, exhaustion, hunger, thirst, and a surprisingly large amount of questions. Each and every day is also full of miracles and wonder that I would say could make even the most masculine of individuals shed a tear. For example, one week I had a camper who approached me on Sunday, crying his eyes out because he wanted to go home; I settled him down and got him back to sleep. Every day, he came to me with more and more questions about what it meant to follow Jesus and by Wednesday he had given his life to Christ; that was just one of the many miracles that happened in that one summer. At Camp Lurecrest I would say the priorities are Jesus, campers, and everything else. Ultimately the purpose of this gospel-centered camp is to show Jesus to campers (grades ranging from 3-12) in a safe, comfortable setting that allows them to have their own, personal experience with His love and grace. The motto of Lurecrest is “A Week can Change a Life,” so you can only imagine what an entire summer did for me.

What influenced you to apply for this position?

One of my friends here at Appalachian State told me to check it out as I walked in the Outdoor Jobs Fair. When I went to check it out, I met a fairly intimidating, large, bearded man named Jeremy White (the Camp Director). He turned out to be one of the nicest, most genuine people I’ve ever spoken to. He seemed to actually care about what I had to say and was very helpful. He even emailed me after I applied and told me how glad he was that I did. I soon found out this attitude of going above and beyond what is expected is commonplace at Camp Lurecrest.

How did you acquire this job?

After speaking with Jeremy, I went on CampLurecrest.org and filled out the summer staff application. I then did an interview on Skype and was offered the job roughly a week and a half later. The whole process was about 3 weeks.
What aspect of the job experience did you enjoy the most?
My favorite part of being a counselor at Lurecrest was watching campers conquer their fears on the Leap of Faith. For those of you who don’t know, the Leap of Faith is a 25-foot, wobbly telephone pole that campers climb up. Then once at the top, the campers jump off, trying to grab a trapeze bar. Many campers, much like myself when I was a kid, freeze at the top, unable to move or keep control of their emotions. The greatest moment of any week of camp is when the children overcame the psychological barrier that they had built between themselves and the trapeze bar and were able to jump; I lived for those moments.

Leave a Reply

